Memphian to Meet: Andrea Everett

Posted on October 28, 2014

0


By: Shelby Smith

IMG_2675With a three-year anniversary of the online, women’s clothing shop, A Thrifty Steal under her up-cycled belt, Andrea Everett, senior Fashion Merchandising major at the University of Memphis, continues to gain recognition for her vintage finds.

A Thrifty Steal made its debut in October of 2011 after Everett had a change of heart towards her studies. After two semesters of studying to be a pharmacist, she decided to switch things up a bit.

“I had to reevaluate what I wanted to do with my life,” Everett said. “I have always had a love for clothes, but I did not know it was something that I wanted to make a career out of. After some debate, I took my first merchandising course, and I loved it. I was finally excited about learning again.”

Everett put her love for fashion and thrifting to the test by promoting her line through various media sites. She was soon being noticed for her unique pieces, which were centered around the styles of the early ’80’s and ’90’s; her most sought after item being distressed, high-waisted shorts. As her passion for promoting vintage items continued to increase, Everett continued to shop for more clothing to add variety to the online shop.

“My target market is geared toward young adults between the ages of 21-27,” Everett said. “ I want my clothing to reach out to unique individuals who can mix and match vintage with current, modern pieces. I pull inspiration from everywhere; social media being the number one source. Instagram has made it easy to access designer pages and derive inspiration from them to create my own pieces,” Everett said.

She also incorporates elements of her personal style into the clothing that she promotes for A Thrifty Steal.

“My personal style is everywhere, much like my personality,” Everett said. “ Some days I feel extra girly and I want to dress up in fur and leather. Other days I want to dress more casual so I’ll throw on a graphic tee, jeans, and Timberlands. My mood dictates what I wear,” Everett said.

After three years of goodwill hunting, A Thrifty Steal had gained attention both off and online.

“There have been many changes since the debut of my online boutique, Everett said. “The website has seen a face lift since 2011 and my customer base has expanded. I have also participated in a many pop-up shops as well as holding my own, which were a big success.”

In addition to her shop gaining notice, Everett has also seen growth in herself as a businesswoman.

“Having a business has changed my perception of entrepreneurs,” Everett said. “I am my own boss, which is great, but it is also a 24-hour job that requires my focus everyday of the week. Sacrifice is another important factor that has truly helped me grow over the years. I have sacrificed time and money to make sure my company grows. Having a business there are going to be good days and bad days. You have to make it through the bad days to even begin to tip-toe on to the good ones.”

All recognition aside, Everett believes that her biggest accomplishment was following her gut  to start a business that she really enjoys.

“I took a leap of faith and created a career for myself that I truly love,” Everett said. “At the end of the day, yes, I love my customers, but I also love myself and what I’m doing.”

Be sure to check out Andrea’s vintage finds at, athriftysteal.bigcartel.com

Posted in: Memphian to Meet