Making Learning Fun: My Tutoring Experience at Grizz Prep

Posted on October 26, 2014

0


By: Caroline Taufic

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 8.57.37 AMThroughout my high school career I helped children with special needs learn how to dance, and I experienced a great amount of joy working with them. From those experiences, I decided that I wanted to become a Special Education teacher when I “grew up”. The only problem was that I had never worked in a classroom. Ever.

During my Foundations of Education class at Rhodes last semester, a representative from Grizzlies Prep in Downtown Memphis came to tell us about his school. At the end of his speech, he mentioned that they were taking applications for interns for the following semester. I applied, and before I knew it, I was working there. After I had received the internship, the representative asked me which specific fields I would be interested in working with. I told him Special Education, but unfortunately there was no direct Special Education Department. Instead, he set me up in a class of seventh grade boys in which I would focus on a few boys in particular who were not at the same level as the rest of the students. My job is to stay with the class as they travel from teacher to teacher, but really make sure that these few boys understand the material and stay involved in activities. If specific concepts or activities are too confusing for these particular students, then I can take them into a different room and break down the material to maximize their understanding.

When I first started working at Grizzlies Prep, I wasn’t really sure what to do or how to teach these students a more simple way of learning and understanding the material. I went home after my second day, sat down, and really thought about different ways I could teach them.

I thought, “If this is what I want to do someday, then I should be able to come up with easier ways to learn.”

I must have been completely over thinking, because soon after I realized that I can teach the students in a fun way that gets them interested and excited about learning. I made up games or drawings that would help them with their understanding of how to complete processes, such as making proportions. Education is so important in our daily lives, so why not make learning fun for younger students? They are going to look back at their education in ten years and remember either how amazing it was or how awful it was. From this internship, I want to share my knowledge with these students, but also get them excited about learning in the present and the future.

Posted in: Education