Featured Artist: Clara Seigler

Posted on February 28, 2014

0


By Rosie Kopman

pasted_image_422x563275x366Rhodes College sophomore, Clara Seigler, is about to take on Memphis fashion in its biggest week of the year, Memphis Fashion Week. With her incredible pieces being shown in Memphis Fashion Week, Seigler is a fashion force to be reckoned with. theGRIND sat down with Seigler to discuss this moment in her career, and what she hopes to accomplish in her promising future.

theGRIND: When did you start designing clothing?

Clara Seigler: My Sophomore year ofhHigh school I started teaching myself to sew and everything grew from there.

TG: So you didn’t take sewing lessons or classes?

CS: My mom tried to teach me when I was younger, but I only really became interested later in life, so I’m almost completely self-taught.

TG: That’s amazing! What was the spark that inspired you to start designing?

CS: I was always a very artistic kid. I kind of jumped around to all sorts of art forms and finally landed on fashion. It kind of just clicked.

TG: What does it mean for you to have these pieces chosen for Memphis fashion week?

CS: Well, there isn’t too much opportunity for designers in Memphis right now, so to be chosen for one of the few opportunities is pretty great.

TG: Where did your inspiration come from for these pieces?

CS: I’m really inspired by fabrics. I kind of collect fabrics and then later become inspired by them. I really love working with leather, and other materials like it. For me, my designs evolve a lot over time. As I am working on a piece it will change and evolve into something completely different.

TG: What are you most excited for during fashion week?

CS: I’m really excited to meet other designers in Memphis. There isn’t much circulation of fashion in Memphis so it will be really great to connect with other designers and see what they are doing.

TG: What is the best advice you have ever received?

CS: Probably what my Dad always tells me, “if you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life.”

TG: Where do you see design taking you in your future?

CS: I’ll be finished with my general degree by my junior year so then I’m going to go to art school. I’m really interested in FIT (the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York) and Parsons. I want to gain more technical knowledge of design because I am self-taught. From there, hopefully an internship and eventually starting my own brand.

TG: Finally, What piece of advice would you give to other students thinking about designing?

CS: I think it is really important to know the business side of the industry. I sometimes think about if I had chosen to go to art school, but I know I made the right choice coming here [to Rhodes]. I think it’s important for people in the arts to have a general knowledge as well. Creativity is something that is already known, but business, you need to learn.

Posted in: Arts