Memphian to Meet: Peter Hall

Posted on January 25, 2014

0


By Kendra Lyons

pasted_image_610x407Behind Promise Water and Socially Advanced Marketing is 24-year-old, Peter Hall. Hall’s vision is not limited to revamping and maintaining social media sites for his clients but instead, branches out to filmmaking, music videos, and journalism, which can be seen on his website. Over bloody mary’s at the Bayou, he shared his experiences as a young entrepreneur and convinced me that whether he’s sees it or not, this guy is the next big thing in Memphis:

A Promise to Memphis:

KL: Let’s talk about Promise Water. Explain the initiative for someone who has no idea what it is.

PH: I want to be a competitive price with like, Dasani, or Aquafina, cheaper than like a Smart Water or an Ethos water, but have a charitable side that’s locally based. Ethos water is probably the closest comparison of a product, in that they donate twelve cents to [sighs] “clean water efforts in Africa” and that’s basically all they say. And it’s like, OK, they’re selling water by saying it’s charitable, but not really saying anything more than that. So I wanted to do something where you can buy the product and it goes somewhere down the street. So it’s made in Memphis, sold in Memphis, and goes to a Memphis charity. So, that was kind of the way I made it a little bit more unique. It’s grown, I mean it’s weird like as of last year I’ve heard people been like “I’ve seen people out with your bottled water” and stuff, and like a girl from University of Memphis who does really good social media stuff, like I’ve talked to a bunch was like “yeah, I was at this hair salon in Germantown and this woman had a bottle of Promise Water and I was like ‘how did you get that?’ and she was like [impersonates the woman with a high pitched voice] ‘oh I was just at a restaurant earlier and I love this stuff, I get it all the time!’” And I’m just like what? Who are these people?

Socially Advanced Marketing (SAM):

KL: How did you come up with SAM and what is your mission?

PH: SAM came about on a train between Washington D.C. and Harper’s Ferry, West Virginia. I wrote down a business plan and came up with the name of it, what I’d offer, how I’d offer it, price it, how much time in the day it would take, would it be financially conceivable, and how much it would cost me. There’s two clients I have, people who understand the use of it, but just have no idea how to use it, or understand the use of it and don’t have the time of day to do it. The second semester my senior year I went around and opened up the Realtor book and contacted maybe one hundred different realtors. And said, if you pay me a couple hundred dollars a month, I will make you a Facebook page, start your Twitter account, and I will do a combination of putting things out that are a combination of your listings, local information, company information- basically, I will revamp your social media stamp.

PH: And so out of that, I made one hundred calls, maybe thirty called back, out of that thirty, sat down with eight, out of that eight, five signed on. So, for something that might seem like a lot of work, like, making a hundred phone calls; that probably took two to three hours, five long term contracts in two to three hours is big. And that’s the thing, when you’re in a position like mine, you’ve got to keep telling yourself not to be shy and not to be defeated when someone tells you, “I think it’s the stupidest thing in the world. My daughter does this and I think it’s a complete waste of time. No thank you.” And I have to respect that, because these are people who are doing just fine in their businesses.

pasted_image_610x407Behind the Scenes: The 2013 KKK Rally in Memphis

PH: I heard about a month in advance that the KKK has this rally coming up, and I was like, no way. That’s hilarious. And so I looked up past footage from because I heard the last time they were here it was like 1995 and it was basically mayhem- gangs came out and were basically protesting against the KKK, and all of this violence happened, and all the downtown streets got fucked up and stuff- and I was like OK, this is going to be interesting.

PH: It was weird. It wasn’t anything I expected. I was expecting to see a bunch of hooded guys in a parade or something. I mean, I knew that they were fucking idiots if they tried to do something serious I mean basically the stage that the KKK is at now is they’re a bunch of hicks that are just trying to live on something that they have nothing left of. So it’s twenty people. But we get there and we couldn’t see anyone. So where you see in the movie like the crowds of people and the fence and the cops, the KKK were in this small area of the courthouse, there was this small area maybe twenty foot radius fenced off, so you couldn’t even see them as an onlooker, but what we did see were people walking towards it, and that’s where I was able to get those interviews from different types of people. The interviews I got were epic. In the few different interviews that I got it was just, eye opening. Like people still think it’s OK to act like this.

pasted_image_610x4072First and Foremost, a Businessman:

KL: Do you have any upcoming business ventures that you’re excited about?

PH: I’ve always got ideas.

KL: Anything worth sharing?

PH: [laughs] I don’t want to share. I don’t want to share because I don’t like sharing things that I don’t follow through with. I keep things to myself until I know it’s finalized.

PH: There are some funny things. I went on a two day thing last week where I got so into doing this business that was like, I saw of video where these guys went to this empty parking lot and they souped up a VW van and they went to this deserted area and put a bunch of like cardboard boxes- stacked them up, twenty feet tall, thirty feet wide, and you get together with your friends, rent this VW, and crash into like thirty of these big walls of cardboard boxes so it sounds really weird but it’s like really fun so, it’s something in a car where you and the car can’t get hurt. From a business point of view, this would be hilarious.
KL: It sounds like a lot of what you do is trial and error.

PH: That’s half the battle. Because everyone’s got ideas. But it’s having an idea and then researching it and testing it to see if it’s actually conceivable, because that’s what people don’t do.

Get connected with SAM on Facebook and contact Peter at peternewtonhall@gmail.com.

Posted in: Memphian to Meet